Tag Archives: Grand Prix

Jochen Rindt – Mosport 1969

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 4.25.14 PMJochen Rindt was Autria’s first World Champion. He dominated the sport from May to September 1970 winning 5 of 6 races on his way to the World Champiosnhip. Sadly, he would be killed in September of that year in a practice accident at Monza for the Italian Grand Prix. He remains the only Posthumous World Champion. In 1969 he finished 3rd in the championship, scoring his first ever win at Watkins Glen. This photo is of the start finish line at the Canadian GP at Mosport, where he finished 3rd.


JYS – Mosport 1971

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 3.26.01 PMJackie Stewart was the natural succesor to Jim Clark. A Scotsman, John Young Stewart was known as the “Flying Scotsman” and won three world championships, his second in 1971. He won his 6th of 11 races in 1971 at Mosport sharing the podium with Ronnie Peterson and Mark Donohue. 1971 was the second year for the Tyrrell race car, build by team owner Ken Tyrrell. This photo shows Stewart’s Tyrrell, in Scottish Racing Blue, cresting the ridge from the back straight leading into Turn 4.

Andretti – World Champion 1978

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 3.15.23 PMMario Andretti won his World Championship in 1978 in the all conquering Lotus 79. The season long battle with teammate Ronnie Peterson ended tragically with Peterson’s death at Monza in September. The previous race was the Dutch GP at Zandvoort where the team grabbed their 4th 1-2 finish of the year. Zandvoort is located in the sand dunes within sight of the North Sea. Land is so precious in the Netherlands, that fenced pasture land exists within the confines of the track. In this photo Andretti leads the McLaren of Nelson Piquet over the Tunnel Oost.

2001 USGP Indianapolis

After leaving Watkins Glen in 1980, the US Grand Prix wandered the countryside in search of a venue. Races were held in Detroit, Phoenix and Dallas, before settling on Indianapolis in 2000. Using most of the famous front straight the cars ran clockwise up to Turn Four were the exited for an infield road course that rejoined the famed oval between Turns One and Two. In 2001, Miki Hakkinen won the race driving for McLaren shown here following the Williams BMW of Juan Pablo Montoya.

Monaco 1967

DSC_0007The poster for the 1967 Monaco Grand Prix highlights the 1966 race won by Jackie Stewart in a BRM, with Lorenzo Bandini in the number 18 Ferrari coming second. The 1966 race was the first under the new 3.0 liter engine size when revolutionized the sport.  In the 1967 race tragedy struck when Bandini’s Ferrari crashed heavily resulting in his death days later. The 1967 race was won by Denny Hulme, driving a Brabham with an Oldsmobile engine. JYS would win a second Monaco Grand Prix in 1971 in the famous Cosworth Tyrrell.


Monaco 1968

The streDSC_0003ets of Monaco have been synonymous with Grand Prix racing since the first round the corners race in 1929. In 1967, the race pictured in the 1968 poster, Denny Hulme won the race on his way to the World Championship. Grand Prix racing was an eclectic affair in the 1960’s with manufacturers like Ferrari and Honda going against small privateers like Lotus, BRM and Brabham. Jack Brabham and his protege Hulme won consecutive championships in 1966 and 1967 – Brabham’s 1966 championships remain the only one with a driver winning in a car carrying his name. The 1968 race would be won by the King of Monaco, Graham Hill, who took top place 4 times in the decade.

1939 Belgian Grand Prix

39 Belgium GPAuto Union and Mercedes Benz were the great racing cars of the 1930’s. Funded by Hitler in another attempt to prove German mastery, these cars were in fact, just that. Revolutionary racecars that dominated the other challengers like Alfa Romeo from Italy and Bugatti and Delahaye from France. The Auto Union, today’s Audi, featured the first rear engine racecar. While both recognizing the weight of paint on the car, decided not to. The bare aluminum skinned cars were known as the Silver Arrows, a name still used today to refer to Mercedes Benz Formula 1 cars. Spa Francorchamps was the site of the 1939 Belgian Grand Prix, won by Herman Lang in the W125 Benz. This is the victory poster published by Mercedes Benz after the race.