Tag Archives: Formula 1

USGP Watkins Glen 1979



Watkins Glen was nearing the end of its run when the race was held in 1979. The recession of the 1970’s coupled with bad behavior by some fans caused the track to fall from grace. By the time of the 1979 race, Jody Scheckter had cinched the championship for Ferrari. His teammate, Gilles Villeneuve of Canada would win at the Glen, in wet weather, with Rene Arnoux second and Didier Pironi third. The late 1970’s to early 1980’s saw some of the most competitive racing in F1 history with 11 different drivers winning races in 1982, a far cry from today’s follow the leader racing with only 2-3 winners per season.

2001 USGP Indianapolis

After leaving Watkins Glen in 1980, the US Grand Prix wandered the countryside in search of a venue. Races were held in Detroit, Phoenix and Dallas, before settling on Indianapolis in 2000. Using most of the famous front straight the cars ran clockwise up to Turn Four were the exited for an infield road course that rejoined the famed oval between Turns One and Two. In 2001, Miki Hakkinen won the race driving for McLaren shown here following the Williams BMW of Juan Pablo Montoya.

Monaco 1968

The streDSC_0003ets of Monaco have been synonymous with Grand Prix racing since the first round the corners race in 1929. In 1967, the race pictured in the 1968 poster, Denny Hulme won the race on his way to the World Championship. Grand Prix racing was an eclectic affair in the 1960’s with manufacturers like Ferrari and Honda going against small privateers like Lotus, BRM and Brabham. Jack Brabham and his protege Hulme won consecutive championships in 1966 and 1967 – Brabham’s 1966 championships remain the only one with a driver winning in a car carrying his name. The 1968 race would be won by the King of Monaco, Graham Hill, who took top place 4 times in the decade.